1909 Windmill Lane, Alexandria, VA 22307 | 703-765-5950

Our Leaders and Governance

Congregational Governance

Mount Vernon Unitarian Church is a congregational church, meaning that we are self-governed. The Congregation has ultimate authority over church affairs. The Congregation delegates responsibility for conducting church business to democratically-elected officials and staff, who operate in accord with written bylaws, policies and procedures.

Elected members also serve on one of several councils, each with a charter. These councils coordinate efforts through the Program Council which reports to the Board of Trustees.

See Governing Documents and Committee charters:

View ByLaws & Policies View Charters

Related Pages: 

Our governing board and councils include:

  • Board of Trustees
  • Finance Committee
  • Program Council
  • Communications Program Council
  • Membership Development Council
  • Our Home Community,
  • Religious Education/Lifespan Spiritual Growth
  • Social Justice Program Council
  • Sunday Services Committee
  • Property Support


A directory of board and Committee members is below.

The church is a member of the Unitarian Universalist Association (UUA) of congregations, which provides support and guidance to member congregations, but does not control them. Because the church is owned by its members, members are expected to support the church financially, attend worship services and other activities, and participate as appropriate in church governance.

We support and sustain our community through our volunteer efforts. All members are eligible for any of these  opportunities and are encouraged to lend their skills and expertise.  Here are the members we have elected to guide our service and stewardship for 2017-2018.

Board of Trustees

The Board of Trustees usually meets the second Tuesday of each month in the Commons.  Contact the Board Chair for more information about attending a meeting.

Minutes of BOT meetings may be available online or by request.

Name/ PositionTerm End
Marty Bredeck - Chair2020
Linda Walton - Vice Chair2021
Ger FitzGerald - Secretary2021
Helen Kafka - Program Council Convener2020
Steve Erikson - Program Council Co-Convener2021
Malcolm Kerr - Youth Representative2019
Carolyn Dunlea2019
Bill Gleason2019
Jeanne Tifft2019
Carl Lohmann2020

Finance Committee

TreasurerOscar Castro
Assistant TreasurerLiz Campbell
BookkeeperBirgit Robbert
Finance CommitteeAl Robbert, Chair
Stewardship Pledges CommitteeDavid Breen, Chair
Endowment Fund CommitteeJoan Darrah, Chair
Gifts & Bequests

Wendy Burns

Program Council

Committee on Ministry Bruce Tinker, Chair
Donna Gold, Tom Griffin, Barbara Jacobs, Margaret Ruhe, Cheryl Focht
Nominating CommitteeBill Alsmeyer- Johnson (2019), Laurie Hayden (2019), Lynne Kennedy (2020)
Personnel Advisory Committee Jim Hewitt, Chair, Linda Walton, Doug MacCleary, Julie Dressing
Property Committee Leah Choudry, Chair
Susan B. Anthony (SBA) Joan Wamsley, Chair
Rental Events TeamCarolyn White, Chair
Amanda Casey, Wedding & Special Events Coordinator

Communications Council

Program Council CoordinatorJoanne Masterson
Internal Communications CoordinatorBill Cassidy
Newsletter Editor (Windmill)Carolyn White

Weekly Bulletin Carolyn White

(This Week at MVUC)
Carolyn White
Website AdministratorWebmaster@mvuc.org
External Communications CoordinatorMary Paden
Technology Advisory Raleigh Romine
Digital SignageHelen Kafka, Raleigh Romine, Douglas Masterson

Membership Development Council

Chair, Membership Development CouncilLinda Burke (2019)
Visitors CommitteeSandy Peterson
New Members CommitteeDave Bender
Retention CommitteeJim Burke
Leadership DevelopmentSue Lamb, Chair
Circle SuppersDavid Bender, Jim Burke
Young AdultsLauren Crowder, Carolyn Dunlea

Our Home Community

Program Council CoordinatorJan Speakman
Book Nook Sonja Bloom
Book SaleJoan Wamsley
Caring Associates Betsy Stephens
Every Thursday GroupRuth Ann MacCleary, Connie Jordan

Holiday ShopMary Barnett, Sandy Peterson
International Folk DancingPatricia Williams
Volunteer ReceptionistsLaurie Hayden

Religious Education/Lifespan Spiritual Growth

Program Council CoordinatorElizabeth (Beth) Peebles (2019)
Lifespan Spiritual Growth (LSG) Council Members
Steve Bogart (Co-Chair), David Bender, Alex Johnson, Bo Peng, Emily Sturchio, January Tkach, Linda Walton

Social Justice Program Council

Social Justice Council CoordinatorLinda Doyle (2018)
Partner Churches
(Romania & India)
Lisa Gillispie
Blood DriveMike Walker
Gun Violence Prevention Task ForceBill Alsmeyer-Johnson
Linda Bohannon
Laura Castro
Climate ChangeClarke Herbert
Route 1 Social Action
Includes United Community Ministries (UCM) & Ventures in Community (VIC)
Helen Lounsbury
Sharing the PlateLinda Doyle

Sunday Services

Program Council Coordinator David Keegan
Worship, Arts & Music CommitteeDavid Keegan
Order of Service EditorMaria Hong, Phyllis Gilmore
Worship Services SupportFlowers: Angel Dean Collins
Sound: Raleigh Romine
Ushers: Wendy Montanari-Kilpatrick
SoundRaleigh Romine
Coffee Hour CoordinatorBonnie Iredell
Ushers Wendy Montanari

Property Support

Program Council CoordinatorLeah Choudhury
Buildings and Grounds CommitteMike Arnold, Chair
Green House GroupMary Barnett
Memorial WalksBecky Brandt